Historic Gem

Historic Gem

St. John’s Episcopal Church in Lakeport

Historic Gem Gets New Insulation, Shingle Siding and Paint

by Anne Barquist, St. John’s senior warden and project manager

St. John's Episcopal Church, Lakeport is looking quite smart with new insulation, shingle siding and paint. Many thanks to Sam Walters, Lucerne Roofing, Lakeport; Carl Turner, Turner Insulation, Kelseyville; Lyle Madeson, Madeson Painting and Decorating, Kelseyville; and carpenters Dan Critser and David Nylander, Kelseyville.

This stately Victorian building has been standing in the same place since 1898, when local Episcopalians and families from San Francisco purchased large parcels of land in Lakeport and other towns around the county.

Church ladies of the 1800s raised money to begin construction for a local building after initially traveling to Sunday services in Ukiah.

The Collier family originally owned the Robin Hill area north of Lakeport. Through the Collier family roots in San Francisco, Mary Blackwood Collier commissioned brilliant young architect, Willis Polk, who, a decade later, was a chief re-builder of San Francisco after the '06 earthquake and fire.

Miss Harry Floyd donated the property in north Lakeport at the corner of Clearlake Avenue and North Forbes Street.

The church, constructed of redwood, has certainly stood the test of time. But the cedar shingles were no match for the west sun, which brings heat and elements of Lake County weather. Now the west side is again ready to face the rigors of the western exposure.

St. John's Church has long been recognized as an outstanding structure of Lakeport and is open for community meetings, plays, concerts and social events. It is also registered as a local Red Cross disaster shelter.

Although the property, with its historic building, is owned by the parish and held in trust for the Episcopal Diocese of Northern California and The Episcopal Church, it is solely maintained by the generous support of local parishioners and friends of the parish with annual pledges and proceeds of the thrift shop, St. John's Basement Boutique.

To help fund this recent expense, resident artist Ray Farrow is painting recycled shingles for sale. Home-baked goods will also be sold during the upcoming December concert series to help defray project costs.

The church building became a Lake County point of historical interest by California Historical Resources Commission in 1989. In 2012, it earned an Award of Recognition for restoration and preservation by the California Heritage Council, California Trust for Historic Preservation.

All are welcome at St. John’s Episcopal Church Sunday services at 10:00 a.m at 1190 N. Forbes Street, Lakeport.

For further information, please call parish priest the Rev. Leo M. Joseph, O.S.F. at 707-349-6563 or see St. John’s website at www.saintjohnslakeport.org.


No comments (Add your own)

Add a New Comment


Comment Guidelines: No HTML is allowed. Off-topic or inappropriate comments will be edited or deleted. Thanks.

© 2013 The Episcopal Diocese of Northern California.

Designed by: Element Fusion