A New Cross for Trinity, Folsom

A New Cross for Trinity, Folsom

article and photo courtesy of the Rev. Mike Kerrick, Interim Rector of Trinity Episcopal Church, Folsom

Two Sundays ago, Trinity Episcopal Church in Folsom blessed the new cross that will sit atop their building. Their previous cross, erected as a replacement for the original cross, was suffering from dry rot. The original cross is on display in the Fellowship Hall, and remained atop Trinity Church from 1861-1975.

John McWilliams, a specialist in the restoration of historic buildings, including many of the Victorian homes in downtown Sacramento, created the new cross for Trinity Church. John was fascinated by the original cross, which had been created from heart of redwood, a material that is no longer commercially available. He located several heart of redwood beams, over 100 years old and in beautiful condition, at a project site in Coloma. He reconstructed the cross from these beams, and it is stunning.

To learn more about Trinity Episcopal Church, visit www.trinityfolsom.org.

No comments (Add your own)

Add a New Comment


Comment Guidelines: No HTML is allowed. Off-topic or inappropriate comments will be edited or deleted. Thanks.

© 2013 The Episcopal Diocese of Northern California.

Designed by: Element Fusion